The best 7 marketing performance KPIs
- Could we quantify marketing impacts?
- How to measure creative campaigns?
- Why is numerical measurement critical for business success?
If you are searching for similar topics about how to measure marketing performance, good for you, you came to the right place, by the end of this article you will get to know how the top marketers measures and assess their marketing activities and channels impacts.
But before digging into the numerical KPIs, let’s know more why it’s essential for business success because visuals perception depends on personal opinions and tastes so what you might like others might dislike!
In other words, could two different people answer the “1+1 equation” with two different answers? absolutely they couldn’t because numbers are a static science, as opposite the arts, and advertising. but numbers solve this dilemma easily, and that’s why numerical KPIs are essential for managers to make decisions based on concrete insights hence to choose the best marketing channel, allocate budgets etc.
1-Source Of Business
One of the easiest marketing measurement to be used, is the source of business, if you are activating multiple marketing channels like (social media, on ground activation, PR & influencers, outdoors advertising and printing materials) you can measure every channel impact by figuring out what is the main channel driven your customer to do business with you.
Here is an example for a company that generated the bellow insights for its latest marketing activities
- Social media acquired: 2500 customers
- On-ground activations acquired: 1000 customers
- PR & influencers acquired: 2000 customers
- OOH advertising acquired: 4000 customers
- Printing materials acquired: 500 customers
And that’s means that the social media activities acquired 25% of the customers while on ground activations acquired 10%, PR & Influencers acquired 20% and the outdoors advertising acquired the highest percentage by 40% while the printing materials acquired only 5% of the total customers
If any marketing activity doesn’t return an investment in a direct or indirect way to your business, then your main role as a good marketer is to take part in improving or replacing this activity, and this urges us to know what is the “Returns On Marketing Investments”.
How to calculate ROMI:
ROMI = ((Total Revenue – Total Marketing Cost )/ Total Marketing Cost )*100
Here is an example for calculating the ROMI
- Total revenues = 10,000,000 EGP
- Total Marketing Cost = 1,500,000 EGP
- ROMI = ((10,000,000 EGP – 1,500,000 EGP)/ 1,500,000)*100 = 566%
This KPI helps you track how many potential customers received your messages in a specific time frame,
You can calculate the total reach of your marketing activity by summing up all your reached customers.
Here is some active marketing channel as an example:
- Social media: Reached 1,000,000 customers
- On ground activations: Reached 10,000 customers
- OOH Advertising: Reached 1,000,000 customers
- SMS: Reached 200,000 customers
- PR & Influencers: Reached 500,000 customers
So the total monthly reach will be 2,710,000 customers
4-Cost per lead
If any consumer shows any kind of interest, for a specific offer/product by doing any activities like applying for a quotation on a website, registering a form in an event or even ask for an inquiry by a phone call, he/she considered as a lead.
Now how we could calculate the cost per lead (CPL) for the whole marketing channels or for a single channel.
Here is the CPL equation:
CPL = Total spent / Total number of leads
And here is as an example for calculating web marketing cost per lead if:
- The Web marketing cost = 100,000 EGP
- And the generated leads = 1600 lead
Then the CPL = 100,000 EGP /1600 = 62.5 EGP
5-Leads conversion rate
After all of your marketing efforts, it’s important to know how many leads your sales team is able to close. You want to calculate your lead-to-customers conversion rate.
As long as you are tracking the number of leads you get and the number of resulting sales (conversions),
You can calculate your conversion rate as the following equation:
Conversion Rate = (Number of customers/ Number of Leads) * 100
Let’s say you generated 1000 leads from some marketing activities last month to converted to do business with 200 customers and. and that means that the conversion rate would be 20%.
6-Customer retention rate
It’s a very important key determiner in the overall success of a business, you must to be able to quantify and track this KPI, here is the simplest equation for calculating customer retention rate.
The main three elements you need to calculate customer retention are:
- The number of customers at the start of that period (CS)
- The number of customers at the end of a period (CE)
- The number of new customers acquired during that period (CN)
And the formula to calculate customer retention is:
CRR = ((CE-CN)/CS) X 100
Let’s say you want to measure your company’s customer retention rate for the second quarter of 2018.
- You started the quarter with 1070 customers (CS).
- Within the quarter you gained 210 new customers (CN)
- And also lost 8 customers
- So you finish the quarter with 1200 customers (CE).
CRR = ((CE-CN)/CS) X 100
CRR = ((1200-210)/1070) X 100 = 92%
That means the customer retention rate for the second quarter of 2018. was 92%. For many businesses, 92% would be a good number, but acceptable retention rates will vary according to industry and other factors.
7-Month-over-month revenue growth
Especially the month-over-month percentage increase in revenue. Is one of the most common and important metrics for startup. The Revenue Growth Rate provides a solid indicator of how quickly your business is growing.
For example, if you have 100,000 EGP in revenue the first month and 350,000 EGP the second month, your growth rate would be 250%.
Calculate the Revenue Growth Rate by this equation:
((2nd Month-1st Month)/1st Month)
((350,000 EGP – 100,000 EGP)/100,000 EGP )* 100 = 250% revenue growth
Sure there is a lot of another numerical KPIs for marketing but these are the easiest numerical measurements for marketing to begin the journey of the numerical performance-based management.